Peace Researchers for the Nobel Peace Prize Committee


5 December 2017

Peace Researchers for the Nobel Peace Prize Committee
Inger Skjelsbæk, Deputy Director at PRIO 2009-2015. Photo: Jørgen Carling / PRIO
PRIO is very pleased to see an increased tendency that Norwegian political parties nominate researchers and other specialists to the Nobel Peace Prize committee, rather than former politicians only. PRIO has long argued for the importance of strengthening the competence and independence of the committee.

The current Nobel Committee includes the lawyer Berit Reiss-Andersen and PRIO researcher Henrik Syse, both suggested (by Labour and the Conservative Party, respectively) exactly because of their expertise and personal traits, rather than political careers.
The latest news is that SV (the Socialist Left Party) has now nominated PRIO’s and University of Oslo’s Inger Skjelsbæk to become deputy member of the Committee. A psychologist by background, Skjelsbæk has been a researcher at PRIO for 20 years, serving as deputy director 2009–2015. Inger is a world-leading expert on sexual violence in war, and more broadly on gender related aspects of conflict.
"We are very proud of this public recognition of Inger Skjelsbæk’s expertise and contributions, and appreciate the competence that she can bring to the Nobel committee", says PRIO Director Henrik Urdal.

Related pages